Two Strangers In A House.

Friday marked 8 months since Rick died. It has been so hard both emotional and financial.  I couldn’t make it to the end of the month without borrowing money from my family.  I know I needed a roommate but the thought of that is scary I know you will think I’m racist as hell but when have I let that bother me?  Anyway, I was talking about a nice single hard working Mexican, then I realized that harbouring an illegal comes with a 10 year prison term so that idea went out the window.  About two weeks ago my sister told me that one of her friends was looking for a room to rent.  I asked her if she knew him personally and she said no, but by looking at his post she said he was trying to straighten up his life with the church. I called his phone number and left a message. Well, he called me Monday and I told him he could come over and we would talk about it. He had referances his preacher would vouch for him. He was clean, clear eyed and was a talker. He moved in that night.  He was desparate to move. He said he had been staying with a couple and they had a really bad alcohol problem with the lady being bi-polar and unmedicated. Being as I’m bi-polar and know how out of control you can become, I agreed to let him move in.  It lifted a weight off my shoulders money wise.  The first night, I felt weird to go to bed with a stranger in my house.  Barney, my dog, kept going in his room to see if he was still here and why??  After getting a few boundries laid, we have been getting along pretty good.  Friday morning as he left for work, I told him we seemed to be doing pretty well for two strangers thrown together and he agreed.  My mother feels so much better that I wasn’t here alone and had a man in the house.  My room mate and I talked about us being room mate and I told him I started to put his picture up on facebook and tell my friends that if I winded up  dead, he was the one they should be looking for.  He laughed and laughed and said I wouldn’t have blamed you if you did!  So yesterday, I took a picture of him while he was talking on the phone.  I posted it on facebook and said, “here my almost to true to be real roomate. I hope he’s not a scopath working his way into my home so if I woke up dead one morning that he was the one to look for!  I’m glad he has a great sense of humor.  Things appear to be going good.  He works for the church and goes every Wendays and Sunday.  He brings people to church by talking to them.  These are people who are from his past that he is still friends with even though they laugh at him for going to church so he visits them and in the course of talking, he tells them what a difference it makes in his life and tells them he sure wished they’d come to church. He offers to come and pick them up for church and tell them it is a come as you are church. You dont’ have to worry about clothes.  He works five to 6 days a week.  He said that they were his family. His church family.  Oh, he’s no angel but bless his heart, he is changing his life for the better.  He told me he was raised in church but like so many people, he fell away from the church when he was grown.  He said he was older and saw where his life was headed if he didn’t stop the lifestyle so he decided to change it.  Oh and speaking of church, the second night he was here, he fixed us dinner.  He brought my plate to me (we eat in the living room) and went back to fix his plate.  I was shoveling food in my mouth and he came back, place his plate on the T.V tray then proceeded to pray.  There I was, heathen that I am, sat with my mouth full and bowed my head!  He blessed the pizza last night before he ate. I had only taken one bite and told him he’d have to help me remember to not eat before he prayed.  He told me that his food tasted better after he blessed it and he also prayed for those who had nothing to eat.

About one and half weeks before he moved in, I  was reducing the amount of anti-depressants I take because I could no longer just be a medicated slug on the couch and cleaned my house which had been severely dirty for the past eight months.  With a room mate I now have a job.  Get up and clean the house.  Gone are the days of sitting in my t-shirt and underwear. I actually have to put on a bra and pants now!  But it does make me feel better to get up and get dressed. Before I had no reason to as I didn’t go anywhere or have anyone to come visit me.  I am not as medicated and have a little more motivation.  My roomate keeps telling me what a blessing I am to him.  I’m beginning to think he’s a blessing to me.  He takes the garbage out!!!!! Something I hate to do. Hell, I’ve even married a time or two just to have someone to take the garbage out lol. He will cut my grass in the summer too!  He told me he could do most anything and would help me around the house.  It does indeed seem like blessing are falling from the sky!

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Strangers In A House.

  1. bydesign001 says:

    A wonderful story. I am glad that you are healing as well as your roommate. You know God sends us what I like to call angels. They can come in any form, shape or size. While some are around longer than others, they’re around until their task is done.

    Way to go. I will pray for you, both and ask God to heap a huge blessing along with prayer as well. Thank you for sharing.

    • 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

      Thank you so much. Healing is going on for me now. I sat 8 months and did as little as possible. I was in shock and depression for a while. My house was filthy, things were falling apart in my house. I knew I couldn’t make it on my own and needed a room mate but the thought of that just turned me off. David needed a room mate because he could no longer live with the room mates as they were drunks and nasty. He came over during his lunch hour and met me and we talked for a while. I said yes and then he asked me if he could move in that night. I rent him a room for 100 a week but he does so much around the house, like racking leaves, cleaning my gutter out. Fixed my flower garden, mows and weed eaters, I feel a little guilty! lol We are becoming friends. He thinks I am a blessing for him, but it seems he’s a blessing for me! Angels do come in many forms. Jesus has been trying to get my attention for quite some time now and I think he sent David to me because David works at the Church and goes every Wednesday night and Sundays.

throw in your 2 cents worth.

