BARNEY’S ADVENTURES AT THE VET

Last week I had to take Barney to the vet.  He was in misery itching all over and pulling his hair out leaving bald patches.  I tried everything. Changing his food, different flea repellant ointment, types of shampoos, Benadryl, everything I could think of.  I would have taken him sooner but I have a little Toyota car and couldn’t even imagine that trip.  I might could have stuffed him in the backseat but he would want to ride in my lap.  My car is also a five speed transmission.  Rick called a friend of his to see if he would bring his truck over and take me and Barney to the vet.  So we set a date.  I already had Barney on his leash when Steve, the friend, came up.  Together we had to lift his front quarter and back quarter into the truck.  I had to take the front because Barney would growl at Steve.  We finally got him into the truck and Steve set about tying a rope across the back from side to side, then tied his leash up, somehow.  Steve knows how to do those things because he had big dogs that love to ride in the back.  We got into the front and pulled out of the driveway, while Barney hugged the floor of the truck.  He stayed that way until we stopped at the vets.  Barney is the sweetest thing in the world.  He loves everybody.  Well, when we went thru the front door, Barney went absolutely insane.  It left my mouth hanging open.  It’s a good thing Steve had ahold of the leash because he would have dragged me with him.  Other well-behaved dogs were in the lobby waiting room.  Barney was barking loudly and pulling the leash with him as he went to inspect each dog in the waiting room.  Of course the first one was a pit bull.  He was jumping 8 ft in to the air and dragging his nails down the wall. It was horrible.  He made a little white long-haired dog throw up from sheer nerves.  He hadn’t hurt anybody but sure did raise some hell.  The folks in the back came running and told us to bring Barney back to a private waiting room.  We did and it wasn’t any better for Barney’s behavior.  He was still climbing the walls and barking loudly.  I keep trying to calm him down but to no avail.   A woman vet and a man vet took all of us to an exam room.  I told her why I was there.  I wanted rabies shot, his skin/flea condition and to have his monster from hell toenails cut.  Barney didn’t care for either of them but the male vet, he couldn’t stand.  The female vet looked at his coat and skin and said he had a flea allergy that had infected his skin.  Then the woman vet put a muzzle on him and he went berserk again.  He was trying so hard to claw the muzzle off.  The man vet bent in front of him with the clippers.  Now Barney knows what the clippers are because I had tried on numerous occasion to clip those bad boys.  He went crazy again, this time his eyes turned red where they are supposed to be white and started bulging out.  The male vet had to leave the room.  Barney calm down some then.  The woman vet could touch Barney and he didn’t go nuts.  She showed us his skin and explained what was going on.  Then she told us, Barney doesn’t like men ( you think?) and the reason Barney went wild with the muzzle, Shepard’s are territorial and very intelligent.  When the muzzle went on, Barney couldn’t protect me anymore and he wasn’t going to take that lying down.  She told me he couldn’t get his rabies shot because of the infection and Barney couldn’t have his toenail clipped without being sedated. (See, I told you I had tried)  The woman vet gave him pill antibiotics, steroids and some anti itch pills.  We had already tried giving him a Benadryl in cheese.  We call it sleepy cheese. When the exam was over, she brought the computer pay thing in so I could by-pass the counter on the way out.  I thought she was going to let us leave by the back door.  She printed out an itemized receipt which stated that the exam was cut short because of Fractiousness.  Humm… a new word for downright heathen dog.  The Lobby was cleared out so Barney could leave and the others there didn’t like me or Barney so we beat a hasty trip home.  Barney still hugged the floor on the way back but when we stopped at red lights he did venture his head and ears up and look around, but as soon as we started moving again he was back to hugging the floor all the way home.

So I thought cheese and hot dogs would be the perfect thing to give him his medicine.  It didn’t take but a couple of days before he catches on to sleepy cheese and dopey hot dogs. Although Mo Mo the kitty O loved Barney being drugged.  One night Mo walked over Barney like he was a bridge!  Barney just lifted his head then back to sleep. He got good at eating around the pills and spitting them on the floor.  The antibiotics were the most important while also being the biggest and  hardest to hide.  I kept trying sleepy cheese for the two smaller pills.  Finally we had to cut the capsules open and sprinkle the powder on the on the cheese but he wouldn’t eat it that way.  Then we hit on the perfect thing.  Cut up the capsules, mash the pills to powder and mix it up in ice cream!  Yeah!!! That works.  Then we ran out of ice cream so we found the next best thing, vanilla yogurt with whipped cream on top!!!  Plus yogurt builds good bacteria for your stomach anyway.  It has just made my heart feel good to see Barney be able to rest and not digging and scratching. His hair is growing back in and his skin looks so much better.  I do believe he has also gained some weight but after a week of steroids, he could eat the house down.

At then end of this coming week, he’s headed back to the vet for his rabies shot and nails clipped.  The vet gave me pills like a big vallium to give him about an hour before we get to the vet so he can get his nails clipped. I wonder what kind of trip that one will be???  I know everyone in my family (and furniture) will be over joyed to see that happen, the nail clipping done.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise. Bookmark the permalink.

throw in your 2 cents worth.

