Barney’s Escape

My Friday the 13th was very eventful.  Barney saw a yellow dog  in the street and in the yard. Barney was barking, running from the window and the door then he started piling up his toys in front of the door so he could play with the yellow dog.  He has never bolted out the front door. We go in and out of it all the time and he knew he wasn’t suppose to run out the door, but I think the yellow dog was to much of a big pull on Barney for him to regard the rules. I must tell you about his favorite toy that Rick took the scissors and destroyed it the night before.  The game was on and Barney had been  playing with the squeaky toy for an hour and a half. He took the toy and cut it in two and took the squeaky out of it. Barney will spin right around and run to you for the toy but anyway as I was leaving out the door he bolted. Right into the flooded yard and realized There was No Fence! He was Free! Whee!  The yellow dog was in the Street! Barney ran over to play with him but yellow dog showed his teeth, growled and snapped at Barn. Ole’ Barn saw right off he wasn’t going to play right so it was on. I was standing in the yard screaming at him and couldn’t get his attention. And I had no squeaky toy. He was in the free. I was going to run in the house to get his squeaky toy when I remember that Rick destroyed it the night before. I had no choice but to run out thru the flood yard, screaming and slowly get closer, then Barney would run further down the middle of the street, visiting the neighbors who came out to see what was going on, the fenced in dogs on the street and teaching the yellow dog that not playing nice wasn’t the thing to do. Neighbors came out in the street to help me. After running on the street on my almost broke feet, hips and breathing like a horse at the end of the race and I finally grabbed Barney by the collar and was dragging him back to the house. When we reached the corner of the yard Barney dug his claws in and was running backwards jerking his collar off his neck all the while dragging me down on my knees and butt soaking my clothes. I felt like a neon film above me flashing ” old fat lady rolling in the flooded yard.” I fell and my purse, car keys and shoes went flying.  Now Barney didn’t have anything I could hold on to. The young woman next door got a white plastic lawn chair and asked me if my dog bit? I said no but right then Barney gave another lesson to the yellow fellow.  She turned the chair around with the chair legs facing Barn. I told her to keep him  corralled as I ran on my broke feet and wet clothes back to the house picking up the soaked collar in the yard into the house to get the leash. I passed the broken squeaky and kicked the shit out it, cursing Rick all the time. I finally dragged his ass back in the house. I looked at my self and saw muddy, wet clothes.  I went into the bathroom and changed clothes, telling Barney what a bad dog he was. Then is when I remembered my purse and keys in the yard!  I opened the wood door and there was my purse and keys hanging on the door knob. Praise Be! I owe her big time.  I had about a twenty minute lapse in leaving and my granddaughter called me to ask if I was alright. I got so sick at my stomach I thought I was going to throw up. I said to myself, I ate before taking my pain pills so why am I sick?  By the time I got to her house I was feeling better but still needed something on my stomach so we went to Starbuck and ordered crescent rolls, bacon egg and cheddar biscuit and lemon cake. My stomach felt much better. I only ate a roll. Barney got to stay out in the rain Friday and Friday night for disobeying his rules.  When he finally got to be in the house, he skunked around, head low and cutting his eyes to the side to look at me with maybe fear of being put back outside.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

throw in your 2 cents worth.

