A Lovely Sunday

I had a great day today.  My Mom called and asked if I wanted to go see her Aunt.  She is her father’s only sister.  I haven’t seen her in, I’m ashamed to say, 30 years.  She was the only girl in a family of boys.  Aunt Maggie has always been a super sharp lady.  So, my momma and my sister, they live together, came up and pick me up and off to the residential living home to visit.  It’s not really a nursing home but where people who are not bed ridden live in their own homey rooms.  There a dining hall there and that was where we found Maggie.  We had hoped to get there after she had eaten.  She would stop eating to talk to us.  As luck would have it she had finished eating and was sitting at her table when we got there.  I did notice she ate more apple pie than the sad looking looking meatloaf. On the way in, we had to dodge out of the way from a lady that was pissed to the gills that her company wasn’t being run right and she was gonna run it the way it was supposed to be run by damn!  She ranted this as she swept all the sugar, sweeteners, creamers and such that sat by the coffee maker onto the  floor. She had Alzheimer’s.  The nurses and aides were trying to stop her and she was cussing them and refused to be pushed thru the open doorways to the hall.  The other wheelchair bound residents slowly made their way, which was mostly all of them, making their slow wheeling way back to their rooms or activity.  The lady in the doorway was creating a bottleneck in the after lunch traffic.  I grabbed a lady in a wheelchair and tried to help her out into the hall and it was quite hard because some of the residents had decided the middle of the hallway was their next stop. She was trying to get next to the lady throwing a fit and calm her down.  She said the lady who was creating the bottleneck wasn’t feeling good and that’s why she was mad.  Finally they managed to move the lady out of the middle of the exit, which let me tell you was not a small feat.  The lady was grabbing things, people and other wheelchairs and refusing to move.  An aide or a nurse came over smiling and she said thank you but I’ll take Ms. so-so to her room now.  And there they went.  I turned around and hugged Aunt Maggie and said Happy Birthday!  Things settled down and I started talking to her.  Most of the chairs were lined against the wall being as most of the residents were in wheelchairs so we moved to the visiting area to sit and talk.  The living room area had a wall of windows overlooking a small flower garden and a big beautiful Christmas Tree with a few ( I presume fake) presents with chairs and love seats scattered about.  Aunt Maggie is 93 years old.  WOW!  She is still one sharp lady.  Nicely dressed with her glasses on.  As I sat and talked with her, I thought to myself, here is a lady with stories to tell and I needed to write them.   Her Grandfather lost an eye in the Civil War and lived with them growing up.  She asked, how long ago was that now?  I told her one hundred and fifty years ago. (See, my picking up bits of information is good for something.)  Her grandfather was a blind man after the war.  Aunt Maggie’s mother died in her arms from a head on collision coming back from fishing not 3 miles from her home.  I held Aunt Maggie’s hand and told her that I was a writer and that I wanted to write her stories.  She said, My stories? and I said of course your stories.  Tell me about your life, your mother’s life and your grandfather’s life.  She laughed and said she could have her own book.  I sat there looking at her while she was talking, thinking, Wow, I’m talking to somebody that’s Grandfather fought in the Civil War.  We stay for about an hour or so and one the way home, I asked Momma if she knew which side her grandfather fought on?  She said she didn’t know.  Her father’s father came from Germany.  I know a lot of them settled around The great lakes area because I went to Milwaukee and looked in the phone book there.  Around here there may be one or two but I am related to them.  Milwaukee has pages and pages of them.  I am from the south and my grandfather definitely was against racial mixing, but I wonder which side  his grandfather fight for?  Northern where they came from or Southern ?  That sound like another story for another day, which will be Wednesday.  I have already set a day for my return visit and my recorder so I can tell her stories.  But before I tell any of her stories here, I’ll tell you about my Aunt Maggie.  She knows the Bible backwards and forward.  Her view of people is, that you should never judge another person because none of us are perfect and we don’t know what the other person has been thru, so be nice to everybody.  She has a great laugh too. I think I’ll bring her a blueberry muffin when I visit.

 

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

throw in your 2 cents worth.

