Neighborhood Watch In A Bad Neighborhood.

He sat in his car looking at the house and what appeared to be a garage door.  If he could get the door open, he could just walk right in and out with whatever was in the house.  He got out of his car and moved from the car door to walk around back when he saw the old woman on the corner watching him.  He walks to the garage door and picks up a metal pole and wacks the door trying to see if it would move.  It sounded like metal poles striking one another one.

What in the hell is she doing?  She never comes out of her house and when she does go out she is never gone long.  She is standing in the driveway taking a picture of me!!  Then she turns and walks down the drive to her car. The crazy woman backs out of her driveway and then  pulls up right behind me!  She is on the phone, probably with the police. I better get my ass out of here.

That was my first assignment as the New Neighborhood Watch Captain on my end of the street.  There have been a lot of burglaries here across the street and on the street behind me.  I have a German Shepard mix that will bark like hell if someone comes around the house. Last year it was in the Beclair area along Summer Ave. and the drainage ditch that run thru the neighborhood. It made escaping the scene and not being seen easy.  More people were working at the time and not that many home during the day.  This year, no body is working and doesn’t have  anything so they don’t have to travel far to get what the other guy has which might be better than what they have.  Here in the Heart of Nutbush, there is usually a lot of domestic assaults, stealing from each other, usually the same families and drugs. I belong to cyberwatch and get to see the crimes that are reported in the area.  Reported mind you.  But now it is a fast-moving series of break-ins right next to each other as a band of thieves move in on the neighborhood.  The lady that lives across the street came over yesterday and I stepped out on the porch.  See, never let a stranger into your home, so she told me about her dogs over at her house and they were like her children.  She loved them so and I knew what that felt like.  She told me that some people were trying to tried break in on the other side of her house and would I please call the police on them?  They were trying to steal her pit bull. I know, I know but the breed is not bad, but the owners.  This woman loved her dog.  I asked her which vehicles belonged there since I have seen a lot of them.  She told me any other vehicle than mine.  Ok, what do they look like, I asked?  She seemed surprised that I asked.  I was a dispatcher for a long time so I knew you had to get all the information you can for your officers in the field.  For their protection and capturing the criminals. She had a description that was pretty good of the two men and the dogs they had with them. Then I got her number. You see, we have prostitutes around here, the popsicle man deals drugs and  THE MAN comes around on Thursday’s and Friday’s which are pay days.  The Man not the police.  The Man is the one that runs this section of drug heaven.  He turns his ‘system’ to ear drum splitting level and slowly passes down the street.  He is letting everyone know the re-up man is on the move.  I think everybody around here know what the undercover cop vehicles look like.

Later, looking out of my living room window, I saw a Toyota. Dark blue with a spoiler and sun roof sitting in front of the garage across the street. The back had what looked like orange flames painted on.  I was fixing to go to the library and walked out and stood in the driving way to see if anyone was going to get out of it.  That’s when I saw the man and took a picture.  I got in my car and was backing out of the drive way and the man still hadn’t gotten back in his car.  I pulled out and got right behind him and started calling the police. I give them all the information and the guy was looking at me and started walking back to his car.  I was still giving the dispatch the tag number when he got in and drove off.

I think I’m a good Neighborhood Watch Captain.  Some say it is dangerous.  It is.  I had a phone and if he had pulled a gun, my phone would not have been very good protection now would it?  I did not flee  as some would tell Zimmerman you must.  Gee, you mean we must flee from the criminals?  I got closer to report what I needed to. I’ve found that most of the time, if you confront a bully, they will back down.  That’s why you have the God-given right, not government given right, to protect your self, open carry and SHALL NOT BE INFRINGED UPON.  So, what should we do about the criminals that have guns?  Take the law a-biding citizens guns?  Yeah, right.  Just give up and let this murderous, animalistic people take over? What if he broke my window and beat me to death?   Like the 911 operated told the  woman who had a man was beating on her window of her car.  The operated told her, her call wasn’t a life or death emergency and wasn’t a priority.   The woman on the phone asked, what if he shoots me or breaks the window?  The operator told her to call back.  Call back???  What, after you’re dead?  Of course, I wouldn’t let him beat my window in.  I am a cross between Mario  and the demolition derby.  I would hit bodies, curbs and other cars.  I will slap run over your ass.

On my phone, the police could have heard, then broadcast on the T.V., my murder on the 911 line.  Then they would dissect the call to see if there is any way they could blame it on me but some racist person will say that anyway.  But my phone wouldn’t have given me protection. Should I have the right to protect myself even unto death?  You bet.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neighborhood Watch In A Bad Neighborhood.

  1. Pingback: Only Between 7AM and 9PM |

throw in your 2 cents worth.

