How I Lost My Right To Own A Firearm

You remember back in the eighties and nineties when they changed the law on domestic abuse if they “think” you have committed a domestic abuse crime, they can arrest you?   Well, that’s how I lost mine.  My husband and I were divorcing but we still live in the same house.  The one that moves out automatically loses the place of residence if you own your home.  Well, I wasn’t going anywhere.  One night my husband and I were argueing about who would get what.  I screamed and threw a pipe wrench into an fish tank we had.  I didn’t throw it at him.  He was in another room.  The only thing I hurt was the little fishes I had in there. He was a $1 a year reserve cop, so naturally the cops were on his side.  He called the police and said I was tearing up the house.  They came and arrested me.  The case was thrown out but somehow, it never got erased from my record and that’s why I can not purchase a firearm.  How whacked is that?  I know a lot of men have this problem.  So why are people arrested without proof? And if anyone knows how I can go back and get it removed (this was from 1997.) without the case number, let me know. I didn’t know I would need the case number, I thought the government would do what they were supposed to do. Big laugh on me I guess. Just thought I would write a tad on how I lost my right to own a firearm.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How I Lost My Right To Own A Firearm

  1. Brittius says:

    Consult with an attorney. Too much going on with laws that differ from state to state. Conviction, is only, when a Judge says that you are guilty unless you plea guilty, plea guilty to a lesser charge, or accepted a plea bargain. That is why an attorney is the best one to help you out.

    • 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

      Oh thanks. Nobody said I was guilty. I refused to let the Judge in my town hear the case. He kicked me to the State High Court, and I said Thank You because that was exactly where I wanted to be. Out of his court. I went before the judge in the other court and he threw the charges out. The judge in the town I lived in came to my court date and when the charges were dropped, he asked the other judge if he would charge me with desctrution of property. The Judge told him that I couldn’t be charged for breaking my own property. That’s why I can’t get a gun.

  2. belyew says:

    If you can’t find it and it does not exist than you can own a firearm. Or you can go to the state [government] building where you are from, it’s a matter of [public record] look into the people of case such and such vs. (your full name and the date it happened). They will have the case number right there. If they don’t you can go to your local department of justice and order your “rap sheet”, by supplying your fingerprints”, and then all the info will be on there if these other things do not work for you. Or you can just go to buy a gun, they will do the background check for you, if nothing comes up then you are all good. ;}

throw in your 2 cents worth.

