Momma’s Bithday Party.

Yesterday was Momma’s birthday party. She was 75 years old.  All but one sister came.  Her husband, my Uncle had a stroke and he doesn’t get around well.  I missed them and wish they could have come.  There were about twenty of us there.  My brothers had been BBQing since earlier in the day.  There was so much food there.   The almost blew Mother’s head off.  They were bringing her the birthday cake with candles lit and singing happy Birthday.  They got the cake about a foot or so away from her and my husband told them not to bring it any closer because she was on oxygen.  We had all forgotten that aspect of the deal.  She said she might be bald from the coming radiation treatments but she didn’t think she would look good with her nose burnt off.

Ribs, BBQ, chicken breast, grilled sausages with all the fixings.  We had a great time.  I hadn’t seen a lot of my Aunts and Uncles in about 20 years.  Some I would not have recognized walking down the street, but then again, there was about 100 pounds more of me sense they have seen me too.  Who would have believed the skinniest person around would wind up being fat?  A good time was had by all.  I found out some of my relatives even follow my blogs.  Who’d thunk?  I got a compliment on my writing skills.  Told me that I had real talent.  Then I was compared to Mark Twain.  My face lit up, because I love Mark Twain and said my thank you for being compared to him.  Tom Sawyer and Huckle Barry Finn.  It wasn’t until I was home for an hour or so that it hit me.  Mark Twains books have been banned from the schools for being offensive and racist.  I fell out laughing!  I am quite a bit like Mark Twain.  I speak the truth from my point of view.  And I can be very funny about the truth.  Some times truths are offensive.  I will not change the way I write.  I will continue to write offensive, funny and sometimes sad.   So very raw sometimes.  I have always used writing to get all these pent-up emotion out.  I also happen to think I’m funny as hell occasionally.  My husband understands that writing is very important to me.  Sometimes we will be sitting in the living room and the wheels in my head just keep on turning.  Then I jump up and tell him, ” I must write.” and take off for the bedroom so I can write.  But he loves me anyway.  (p.s. the fellow that said I reminded him of Mark Twain is an English Teacher.)

Mark Twain 2

Mark Twain 2 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Momma’s Bithday Party.

  1. coastalmom says:

    I loved this post! I felt as if I wandered through your day and was invited to the party! I too use my words to shout from my pages and Mark Twain is a compliment!

  2. Regarding the Mark Twain racist comment: It really annoys me when yesterday’s literature is judged, and banned, by today’s standards. It’s a variation on Fahrenheit 451’s theme. Jim, in Twain’s Huckleberry Finn is an admirable portrait of a black man in his time and place, and quite frankly, comes off a lot better than most of the Caucasians he has to deal with.

    • 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

      Yes indeed. That’s true of our time also. I don’t judge (oh come on, be serious) my interaction with people based on their color, but by the content of their Character.

  3. the professor loves Mark Twain!!!

  4. Hard to say–some people still like Mark Twain’s writing–even some teachers! Congratulations on sticking to your blog. Wow, 375!!

    I’ve been bumping into Mark Twain everywhere since Friday. It must be one of those synchronicity things.

    And lucky you, to have an understanding husband. Mine is great that way, too. 🙂

    • 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

      I love Mark Twain. Yes synchronicity is a great thing. My husband just spoils me rotten, and I am lucky to have him even if I want to pull his head off his shoulders sometimes. 🙂

  5. 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

    I guess I was called a racist. By the way this is my 375th blog!!

throw in your 2 cents worth.

