Mamma Has Lung Cancer.

I don’t even know where to begin with this story.  My mother got a diagnosis of Lung cancer last Tuesday.  She had a heart attack  8 or 9 years ago and thought she was having another one early Tuesday morning.  She has been having a lot of trouble breathing and had just got on oxygen 2 weeks ago.  All the doctors she went to wouldn’t even listen to her about her difficulty breathing, blaming it all on cigarette smoking.  My mother has smoked for 50 years to be fair.  All these doctors had taken x-rays of her chest and saw nothing.  That’s because the tumor was hidden behind her heart.  On that Tuesday morning, it had grown large enough that a piece of it was showing on the x-ray.  Any way, momma called an ambulance because of chest and back pain with difficulty breathing.  When they got to the hospital they ran blood tests to see if they positive for a heart attack.  They were not showing a heart attack, so they did a xray of her chest and saw the tumor poking out and immediately set up a cat scan.  I thought they would be a while.  My sister and I walked down to the cafeteria to get some coffee.  But the time we got back momma was already back in the room.  She was the one that told me she had cancer.  The female doctor and a student doctor had given her the news.  It wasn’t news to her.  She had thought about lung cancer for quite some time, being as she smoked.  She couldn’t quit.  I know how hard that is.  I didn’t smoke at the time.  I had bought the e-cig about 3 months before, but had smoked for decades.  I know how hard it is on your lungs but I just couldn’t quit.  Now, momma has lung cancer.  The funny thing is that the type of lung cancer she has didn’t exclusively come from cigarettes.  It is non-small cancer cells and is not aggressive.  That’s how it got so big.  It’s not aggressive but it is still fatal.  It’s just not acute.  She will slowly smother as the tumor grows and presses the bronchial tubes making her lung collapse.  It is inoperable and can’t be cured.  She is going to do radiation not to cure herself, but to reduce the size of it so they can put stints into the tubes so they won’t collapse. Maybe Chemo pills.  She already has thought about getting a head band with a big flower on it like babies wear.  I told momma that we were all about to be rejoined in heaven.  She said, ‘ I have to decorate the house that daddy built for us in heaven because your daddy can’t decorate worth a hoot.’  My sister told momma to tell daddy that she wanted a heated bedroom.  That was reminiscing about the 4 bedrooms he built on to the house when we lived in the country.  I looked around the bed at my sister and said, ‘You know where that heated bedroom would be, don’t cha?’  We all howled at that.  It seems like we still have our sense of humor in a time of trials.  Momma wants to drive herself to her appointment on Monday.  She is going to find out what the best treatment options are and what stage the cancer is.  I am the only person that would be available drive her.  My sister doesn’t drive and lives with momma.  Both my brothers work.  But she doesn’t want me to drive her.  She doesn’t want to talk to me.  I wonder why??

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

throw in your 2 cents worth.

