Always Close To My Heart

This month has been hard for me.  Next month will be two years that Brad has been gone.  My sister told me last week that she had found some pictures of Brad at 2 thru 5.  I told her I would love it so much.  Well, this past Sunday, my sister and Momma came up to visit.  My sister brought the pictures of Brad and we looked Thur them and laughed.  If I had been alone, I think I would have cried.  Next, Momma brought things.  I had admired her long-tailed shirt and she brought me one.  There was a rectangle box in the sack too.  I opened that and there was what I thought was a locket to put Brad’s picture in.  On the front of the heart says, Always Close To My Heart.  I was showing Rick the locket and Mamma said, “You don’t even know what that is do you?”  She took the locket and opened it.  Inside, there was a gold vial held in place in the necklace.  It was to carry some of Brad’s ashes, close to my heart.  I grabbed my Momma in the tightest hug I think we ever had.  My bottom lip quivered and shook.  Then I grabbed my sister and hugged her too.  Momma was unsure of the reaction to this might be to me.  The anniversary of his death is the next month.  She was afraid that it might push me into another deep depression.  I told her that it was the opposite effect.  I was so glad that not everybody had forgotten he was here.  And now I can always have Brad close to my heart.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Always Close To My Heart

  1. 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

    Thank you so much. I thought it was a beautiful story too.

  2. MG says:

    Beautiful story darlin’. ❤

throw in your 2 cents worth.

