Christmas Lights and the cost of a house

English: A Christmas Tree at Home

English: A Christmas Tree at Home (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I being mid-fifties, I remember riding around with my family looking at Christmas lights.  We especially like to ride around in the nicer neighborhoods, as they had more money to buy more things.  We didn’t have things like the Starry Nights Christmas to ride through and enjoy.  It is beautiful, white lights against the dark night sky, colored lights to make balls that appeared to be rolling down the hill, Santa Claus and his sled with his reindeer.  Beautiful.  They give you C.D.’s  with songs that go along with the light display.  But, I again digress.  Back in the day as we rode around the richer neighborhoods,  My daddy saw a house that was so very big and impressive,  he said ” Look at that house.  I bet it cost 10,000.00  dollars.”  That was back when the American dollar was the triple AAA and everyone had or could get a job.  I thought 10,0000.00 was like a million dollars.  Just as impossible to get.  These days, a house can cost up to 125,000.00.  My father is rolling over in his grave.  Twenty years ago, I bought a house for 80,000.00.  It was in a very nice town with great schools.  It was a small ranch style with 3 bedrooms and 2 bath.  Other people in this town had houses that cost anywhere from half a million or 1 million.  To say the least I brought a house in the slum part of town.  And I still paid 80,000 for it.

I remember at Christmas time we were amazed that we got bikes.  We could ride all over the neighborhood.  Or skates.  The old skates with 4 wheels and a key.   We played outside.  Now the amount parents that buy things for their children is outrageous.  And they never play outside.  They stay in their rooms or sit in the living room playing video games.  Eating lots of junk food. And we wonder how our kids are obese and dumb.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Lights and the cost of a house

  1. Dr. Eowyn says:

    Thank you for visiting Fellowship of the Minds and always clicking “Like” on so many of our posts. I hope you saw my response to you concerning commenter Julia. FOTM is not her site. Please don’t let her nastiness stop you from visiting FOTM!

    Peace ♥

throw in your 2 cents worth.

