River Of Time…What Child Is This

what child is this?

Sixteen years ago was such a dark night of the soul.  I wanted to kill myself, wouldn’t leave the house and cried a lot.  I was in a terrible marriage.  I know, I know. It’s my fault.  One of the bad marriage for money.  I ran away from home at the age of 37.  I wanted to leave everything behind me.  Then my son’s girlfriend got pregnant.  I couldn’t see anything good coming from that situation.  I didn’t think I would get to see the child because my son ran away from his responsibility and never married the girl or supported her. I was surprised that her family even called me and my son when she was in labor.  I went to the hospital with my son for the birth.  There were some angry folks at the hospital.  After the birth, I went in to see the baby.  I fell in love the minute I looked into those big brown eyes of that little girl.  I got to hold her and I told her, “hello you little tootie girl.”  My son was my only child and he gave me the best gift I could ever get.  My Granddaughter.  She was born 3 days before Christmas.  I didn’t get to see her again until she was 6 months old.  The first time she came to my house, I couldn’t even hold her because I had a wicked cold.  We all  lived in the same county, not a great distance apart but I believed they were all so angry that I wouldn’t get a chance to get to know her.   After that, her mother started bringing her to the house on the weekends.  How I loved getting to know my granddaughter.  She seemed like such an old soul from the way her eyes looked, like she had the answers to all of life’s mysteries.  That was the beginning of dawn breaking on the dark night of my soul.  Now, I had something to look forward to each week.  Time with my grand baby.  She loved to be read to and of course I bought every book and fairy tale for a baby at Barnes and Nobles.  We had so much fun with it and you would be surprised at all the old nursery rhymes you can remember when it’s your grandchild you are singing to.   She sang before she could talk.  People used to ask about her, just to see my face light up.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

throw in your 2 cents worth.

