What’s Cooking Today

Hello All,

This has been a good day for me.  At least I got dressed, put on the new necklace and earrings I bought.  I do have to say, they perk me up a bit.  I was thinking about what to do with the left over roasted chicken.  Then it hit me. CHICKEN AND DRESSING!!!  My favorite!  People forget about chicken and dressing after Thanksgiving and Christmas.  I love it.  Southern style cornbread sage dressing. And of course, you can’t forget the cranberry sauce.  I love sage, but not as much as my uncle does.  One of his daughters boyfriends said he had never seen green dressing before.  That’s how much he put in.  It turned green from sage.

A friend of mine I haven’t seen in like 20 years is in really bad shape.  Within the last twenty years, he has turned into a serious alcoholic.  He is in the hospital right now.  I ask a friend what happened and he told me that my friend had tried to drink himself to death.  He was on a ventilator for about a week.  Now, he wants to go home, but the place he called home is a pig sty.  He can’t go home yet. He is still in bad shape.  He is gone physically and mentally. I don’t know what is going to happen to him.  His friend is taking care of all of his stuff right now.  He has been given power of attorney. His friend has stripped out the pig sty and is laying new flooring and carpet.  He paid 3 men and it took them one day and a half to cart off all the stuff and clean up. You know, alcohol can atropine your brain.  It happen to my Grandfather.  If you let drugs or alcohol take over your life, I guess this is what happens.  It’s sad.

I have been surfing the web today and I found one youtbe that was showing the history of the earthquakes and the ring of fire today.  Either California is going to go off or OH NO the new Madrid fault.  Guess where I happen to live?  You guessed it.  On the new Madrid fault line.  Right on the banks of the Mississippi. I have prepped for emergencies, but there’s nothing you can do if the mighty Mississippi is going to roll over you.  I’m talking River Town.  I used to work for the emergency management agency and I know how in-fighting and pissing contests will be a great be stumbling block to anything the different agencies would be doing.  I would like to ask the new director if he knows what potable water is and where he plans to find it.  Where are the shelters?  What are the evacuation routes?  Things like that.  I know that if it happens, that everything and everybody that’s inside the 2-40 loop will stay inside the 2-40 loop and vise versa.

Speaking of river time, it’s that time of year again for the Memphis in May BBQ contest.  People come from all over to this thing.  Me, I’ve never been a fan of it.  At least they have vendors now that sale food.  If you think you’re going to get to eat the BBQ that teams are cooking, think again.  I don’t drink so I don’t care to see a mile long swatch of drunks. I can sit at home and watch the winners of the contest on T.V.    Well, it time to go put that chicken and dressing in the oven.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s Cooking Today

  1. Memphis in May does have the Cooker’s Caravan – it is a FREE program that lets you tour team booths. The teams instruct on how to prepare their BBQ, answer questions, and some of us feed and invite people back for the party. If you ever want to take another shot at MIM, give us a shout, we will put your name on the list for the Team Booth…We will see ya’ll down on the river!

    Neil Gallagher
    Pitmaster
    Too Sauced To Pork Championship BBQ Team

  2. Raani York says:

    I like chicken – can I step by? *chuckle*
    Thanks for sharing this… very interesting… and kind of tragic too.

throw in your 2 cents worth.

