Memories of Dating a Serial Killer

As my mother has always said, I get myself into more situations and drama than your average person.  In the year 2000, I met a man that was somewhat strange.  As are most of the men I meet.  He walked into a store I was managing and I knew from the moment I saw him, ‘ there is something wrong with that man.’  Of course me being me, I had to know what was wrong with him.  I knew from the way he carried himself, the look in his eyes and the fact that he was always smiling, that something was wrong.  So of course, I sat down and engaged him in conversation.  I found out that he was devoutly Catholic.  He came from New York and had been fired from the EMS squads in New York and Memphis Fire Department.  I didn’t find this out right away.  It took a little while to find out all these things.

While I was managing the store,  the managers from the different stores would get together for an end of the week, Friday nite little get together.  We would meet at a restaurant/bar and eat, drink and make merry.  I invited the new guy to come join us if he wanted.  So he joined us and I found out a little more about him.  He had been married before.  He met his wife in New York and married her.  He told me that when he met her, she was bad strung out on drugs and that he helped her detox.  I didn’t know his term of detox meant locking her inside the apartment and not letting her out.  Then they moved down here and he was working for the Memphis F.D.   She left him and he wouldn’t leave her alone. You know, him wanting her to  stay locked in an apartment and all.  She had him arrested on Stalking Charges.

Before I met him, I had never been in a Catholic Church.  Knew nothing about them.  Rituals, Saints, Virgin Mary and Alter Boys .  Well of course I knew who the Virgin Mary was but I had never prayed to her.  I wondered, why pray to the Saints when you could just go to the Big Guy?  The rituals were pretty cool.  I never saw  a baptist church with incense and different candles.  I found out one thing that the good ole’ protestants know more about than Catholics.  The Bible.  Catholics don’t read the bible except what is read to them in church.  They don’t even know about bible study.  You know, the Wednesday nite service.  And before anyone wants to rail on me, these are just MY experiences and My thoughts on the subject of religion.  I went to the church in the spring time.  I have sinus problems and allergies.  I was coughing.  He wanted me to go to the cry room.  I mean they actually have a room called the cry room.  It’s in the back of the sanctuary and has a big window in the front of it so you can watch the service and soundproofing so if you have a baby, it can scream it’s head off and not disturb the other patrons.  Maybe a cry room is not so bad after all.  Install them in movie theaters.  Great idea.

This guy was from a big catholic family.  All the kids were named after Saints.  Do you know how many different Saints there are??  Saints of lost panties, Saints of lost people, Saints of the automobiles, etc..  How would you like to named after some obscure Saint?   I found it funny that NONE of his siblings talked to him.  He had a unique last name and I had the name of the city he was from, so I looked up his family on the Internet.  HOWL!!!!!  What a mess I stirred up!  I called and his sister-in-law answered the phone.  She asked me, did I know about his past?  Well, not really.  That’s what I called about.  I told her I knew that he had been married.  She said, “OOOHHH.”  She told me that she shouldn’t talk to me about it, but I could call later and talk to her husband.  So, I did call later.  I found out that the family would not leave him alone with any of the members.  His brother sounded just as crazy as he was.  He started to preach to me about things the bible said.  I ask him if he had ever actually read the Bible.  He told me that his branch had written the bible.  WELL,,,, O.K.

So, this fellow asked if I would go with him on a trip (he was a truck driver) down to the coast and back.  I said sure.  And off we went.  Before we were two hours in the truck, rolling down the road, I knew things were going down hill.  He was trying to teach me about the rosary and how to say it.  Then he turned on Rush Limbaugh.  The more he listened to Rush, the more and louder he talked.  About mid-day, he stopped at a Farmers co-op.  He bought chains because if he went up north, he needed to chains to pull himself out of snow banks. ( This is what he told me about his purchases. I don’t think it was REALLY why he bought them. )  Then he bought some of those big syringes for farm animals and told me that he was going to use them as a water pik for his teeth.  I was looking at him catty wonkers, wondering to myself, just what in the hell was I into.  That evening, we stopped at a truck stop to eat dinner.  After dinner, we went back to the truck parked in the back of the lot.  He was really wounded up tight, what with Rush Limbaugh and the Virgin Mary.  He started decorating the sleeper of his truck.  First, he hangs white sheers around the inside then he covered the bed with a white down comforter.  He wanted me to come lay down in the bed of white.  Then I got to thinking of the chains and syringes.   This did not look good.  And he was preaching about purity and sin.  Although I am crazy, even I had the good sense to bail out.  Right then.  This man was seriously crazy.  I got out of the truck and was high tailing it to the inside of the restaurant.  He followed me but I would not  go back with him.  He got very mad.  I told him that if he didn’t leave me alone, I would call the police.  Needless to say, he left.  I really and truly believe this man was a serial killer that just had not been caught yet.  Think about it.  He was a truck driver, seriously messed up religion wise and had chains and syringes.   What would you have done?  I know, alot of you would say that you never would have gone in the first place, but what if you did?  Does anyone have tales of yore?  Dating wise?

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memories of Dating a Serial Killer

  1. 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

    Reblogged this on just another day in paradise and commented:

    A little old, but thought you might enjoy

throw in your 2 cents worth.

