SHTF

As you know, I believe in prepping for emergency situations.  My friend and I prep together.  She has some land and a chicken house.  We talked of bugging-out to her place.  She had told me before, that she would shave her head so she wouldn’t have to deal with dirty, greasy hair.  I think that’s going to far.  We were talking about not having running water and how nasty we would be. I mean nasty.  We would have to in the dirt to plant things.  Stepping in chicken doo-doo while your are gathering the few eggs you have.  Sweating while out chopping down trees (if you have an axe) for firewood and shelter.   A mental picture jumped into my head, of my friend standing there with her bald head,ears sticking out, with dirt all over her.  I just busting out laughing and told her,’ I could just see you now.  You’re going to look like a mutant standing there.’  She laughed and said,” And the men would still want SEX!”  We were just howling at that.  She brought up something that nether T.V. shows, Survivor or The Walking Dead address.  How to deal with menstrual cycles.  I told her that if we had walkers in the wood like on The Walking Dead, it would be like ringing a dinner bell.

I don’t take myself to seriously.  I mean, I prep but  I do laugh about things.  If you can’t laugh at yourself, others will do it for you. Last night, our lights went out for about 5 minutes.  It was so dark that you couldn’t even see your hand in front of your face.  I told Rick, ‘See, I told you we should have put the oil in the lamps’.  I have coal oil lamps.  You couldn’t fill it in the dark.  So there wasn’t a whole lot to do sitting in the dark.

Tornado season is upon us.  We will likely have more power outages.  I wonder, what will other people do it the lights go out for an extended time?  I have extra water, lights and a homemade fan that the church ladies use to use. Take a round piece of cardboard and glue a popsicle stick to it. Oh, and a way to cook food. I have a gas stove, but I do have back ups for the stove. I believe in preparing for a disaster.  And with no electricity, you have no T.V.. That’s a disaster for me.  But I do have tons of books so I could read and I have board games to play, cards, etc.  I’m just as handy as a pocket on a shirt.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise. Bookmark the permalink.

throw in your 2 cents worth.

