a mother’s broken heart

This is the first blog that I have set up. I wanted to share with all drug users and parents what can happen to you too.

I wondered who that could be ringing the doorbell like that a 9 in the morning. I was still in my P.J.’s when I answer the door. There were two detectives and a patrol officer standing on my front porch. I must admit when they ask me if I was the mother of Thomas Bradley, I thought they were there looking for him. As I opened the door to let them in, my little ankle biter running around barking at them. I was trying to put the dog up in her room, and the police men keep telling me to sit down and not worry about the dog. After the third time of telling me to sit down, I did. They told me that Brad had hanged himself in jail around midnight.they stated that my son had been arrested two days before for a domestic assault. They had been called to the address of his ex-wife’s house. I knew that they had gotten back together and then decided that they would be better friends instead of getting married again. I sat there with my mouth open. I didn’t even know he was in jail. As the words finally reached my brain, I looked at the detectives and they told me I needed to make arrangement. Arrangements. What did that even mean?? I looked at them and ask them what I was suppose to do? They asked if I had someone that I could call, to be with me. I called my husband at work and just said, “Brad’s dead”. He was here in under 10 minutes. I sat of the couch just staring into space. How could my son be dead. I had just seen him two weeks before he died.

I called his ex-wife to find out what had happened. She said that Brad had brought his girlfriend over to her house. They got into a terrible argument. My son is 6 foot tall with tattoos all over including his face and head. He is an intimidating person. She said he never hit her, that they had been arguing and he pushed her around the front yard. She told me that she had asked to police not to take him to jail, but just get him away from her. That’s how he got into jail in the first place.

I am not condoning domestic abuse. I told his ex-wife that I didn’t blame her for calling the police. That she did what she had to, to keep him from beating her. Little did she or I know that that wouldn’t always be.

I called my Mother to tell her that my son was dead. later that day, she asked me if it was O.K for her to started calling people. I had never even thought of calling everyone. I couldn’t think at all. My son’s death was like I had been hit with a baseball bat in the stomach.

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I'm not politically correct in any sense of the word.
This entry was posted in my stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a mother’s broken heart

  1. tersiaburger says:

    This must have been so horrific. I am so sorry!!

throw in your 2 cents worth.

