The Treatment Of Mentally Ill People

I watch an old HBO special about Bellevue and the treatment of folks.  I was sickened.  I have been in a few wards, just not there but I can tell you this happens all the time.  The people who work there treat you like you have no dignity.  They will not listen when the patients are trying to tell them about the horrible side effects of the drugs and say, ‘yeah,yeah,yeah whatever, take your pill.’    Inside a psych ward they strip you of everything.  Including your dignity.  A lot of mentally ill folks are hooked on cigs. and candy.  Don’t ask me why, but a survey showed this.  One question I have is why take these things away at a time when this folks need help at a hospital?  You are having trouble with your meds and things going on in your life, why make it worse by making you give up your candy and cigs?  Have a designated smoking area.  But oh my!!!! no, some one might be offended by your second hand smoke! Gasp!!!  And the staff is too busy to monitor you when you’re smoking.  The trouble these people are having has nothing to do with cigs.  It is a calming effect for many.  You are not allowed to touch your medicine, except when it is  handed to you.  I’ve had nurses try giving me the wrong medicine and she wouldn’t believe me when I told her it wasn’t mine.  The nurses started gathering around me like they were going to force me to take it.  I screamed loud enough for the head nurse to come and see.  When she got there, she looked at my file and then at the medicine and agreed that what they were trying to give me was not mine.  I stuck my tongue out at her.  Yeah, real grown up, wasn’t it.  You are not allowed to have your bath products with you and must check them out every time you want a shower or bath.  The mental health field has not changed a whole lot since the days of electro-shock, cold baths and lobotomized people.  Drug and warehouse those that have problems.  They keep adding meds until you sit down and shut up.  Different drugs work on people different.  I was watching this and a man would not shut up and the doctors wanted to give him a shot of atavan.  Atavan makes me meaner than a junk yard dog.  It doesn’t calm me down in the least.  So why do they assumed it will work the same on everyone.  Tegertol I can not take. It make a horrible taste in my mouth that lasts for a while.  The side effects of that can become permenate.  How would you like that?   Buspar makes me mean too.  Drug work differently on people so it’s not a wonder drug.  I am on so much medicine that I sit and do nothing all day.  That is not living, it’s existing in a crazy world.  The only things I like to do now is read and write.  And look stuff up on the computer.  There has got to be a side of normal that except us as we are.  Afterall, everybody else has been getting their lifestyles deemed as normal.  Mental illness is a physical disease, recognized by the government.  It is no different from diabetes.  They don’t talk to diabetics that way now do they?

About 1wanderingtruthseeker

I'm a fiftish woman that has opinions and passions about nearly everything under the sun. I love a good debate, not name calling. I believe in the Constitution , the Bill of Rights and God. I believe the government which governs the least is the best government of all. I believe in the rights of the people. I dispatched fire trucks, the Po-Po and ambulances for a long time so I have a wicked sense of dark humor and speak fluent sarcasm. I think out loud a lot times. I am offensive. But I'm offensive of everybody. Socially unacceptable, plain spoken and unashamed. If you don't want to be offend, please don't read and if you do, please consider that I don't really care what you think.
This entry was posted in another day in paradise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

throw in your 2 cents worth.

